Home Page

Miss Wood

Can you introduce yourself and tell us what you do at our school?

Hi, I’m Miss Wood and I am excited to say that I will be joining Eye this year! This is my NQT year and I am looking forward to spending this year in year 4 with the dolphins’ class.


What did you study at University?

I studied, and received a first class degree in Criminal Justice Studies at Bradford University (near to where I used to live, in Leeds, before moving to Peterborough in 2016).


What were your favourite subjects at school?

I liked lots of subjects at school, including: English, History and P.E.


What did you do before you were a teacher?

Whilst at sixth form, I had a part time job working at a pizza shop. I soon moved on from there (I liked eating pizzas more than boxing them) and instead worked at a local school wraparound. Following university, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do and so worked for a temping agency, working as a school appeals clerk, a PA, charity worker and call centre worker, before realizing that teaching was what I wanted to pursue!


What do you like to do out of school?

I enjoy eating out (and in), visiting my family and friends back in Leeds, and walking my dog (he’s a Beagle called Doug). I enjoy trying different exercise classes and am currently trying to get back into playing hockey, after not playing since university.


What's your favourite meal?

There’s almost too many to choose from, but I would probably have to say a Sunday dinner with loads of gravy (I’m from Yorkshire, after all).


Is there anything you really don't like?

It’s a bit of a strange one, but when people crack their knuckles!


Can you describe yourself in one word?